University of Cyprus

The University of Cyprus was established in 1989 and offers a range of undergraduate, postgraduate and professional study programs (8 faculties, 22 departments, 11 research units, 2 institutes and 15 organizational entities). Over the period 1996-2016, 16193 undergraduates graduated, 185 with a Diploma of Engineer or Architect, and 5296 postgraduate (4831 Masters and 465 PhD) students. The university is governed by the Senate, represented by the Faculties and the Council, and it is staffed by 356 academic staff members, 57 members of Special Educational Staff, 190 specialists and 465 members of the administrative staff.
Since its founding in 1989, the University of Cyprus is continuing a steady ascendant course, with recent international rankings ranking it in the 350th to 400th place internationally (Times Higher Education World University Rankings, 2015) and in the first 60 Universities with less than 50 years of living, while in recent years it has developed strong research activity (basic and applied) across the range of cognitive subjects. The University of Cyprus aims to create added value with actions in the following areas:

  • Science and culture (research, education and scientific culture).

  • Open Society (Contribution to Critical Reflection, Change, and Renewal).

  • Productive potential of society (contributing to the economic and social development of Cyprus and Europe).

The University of Cyprus to establish itself as a pioneering institution of cultural creation, a prominent social contribution and a reference point in the global scientific community.
Address: University House "Anastasios G. Leventis"
1 Panepistimiou Avenue
2109 Aglantzia, Nicosia
P.O. Box 20537, 1678 Nicosia, Cyprus

Tel.: (+357) 22894000


Visit website